GemStone Guide





The Ultimate Gemstone & Jewelry Guide

Internest Online is your guide to the wonderful world of gemstones. We have on our website useful guides on gemstones and how their prices are evaluated. Our site especially deals with expensive gemstones such as the paraiba tourmaline gem, rubies, sapphires and tanzanite. This is definitely something useful for novice buyers as well as hardcore gemstone buyers like you. The information you can find in this website is updated constantly, so you can be sure you are updated on the latest trends in the jewelry industry. If you have a gemstone in your hand, you can actually make a quick appraisal on its price.

The Different Gemstones

The jewelry industry recognizes two types of gemstones: “precious” and “semi-precious”.

Not surprisingly, precious gemstones are valued more than their semi-precious counterparts. Diamonds, sapphires, rubies, emeralds are highly regarded as precious gemstones. Recently discovered gemstones like the Paraiba tourmaline have also made it to the “precious” gemstone category.

Semi-precious gemstones can be any other gemstone that is not regarded as precious. The American Geological Institute defines a semi-precious gemstone as a gemstone that has a “lower commercial value than a precious gemstones; specifically, a mineral that is less than 8 on the Mohs scale of hardness.”

Thus, it can be said that even if a gemstone looks better than a diamond, if it is not a sapphire, ruby, emerald or a Paraiba, it is still considered semi-precious. Apart from hardness, the jewelry industry actually has very subjective criteria on how gemstones are classified and priced. If a gemstone is relatively abundant, has an inferior brilliance, or is simply unknown, it would still be called a semi-precious stone.

Blurring Boundaries

Recent trends in the jewelry industry are leading to changes in the classification of gemstones. Where before there was a clear boundary on what is a precious gemstone and what is a semi-precious gemstone, some gemstones that are not in the category of diamond, ruby, emerald, or sapphires are now considered as precious. One very good example of this is the Paraiba tourmaline.

There also have been changes in the pricing of gemstones too. Gemstones are now priced based on their beauty, durability, rarity, and desirability. Previously, gemstones were priced based on their beauty, hardness, rarity, and durability.  Paraiba Tourmalines for example are extremley expensive. People wealthy enough to buy expensive gemstones such as paraiba tourmaline should also sign up in a premium financing program.


Copyright © 2002